Thursday, November 1, 2012

FEMA Disaster Funding Available For Cape May County

FEMA Disaster Funding Available For Cape May County
Release Date: November 01, 2012
The U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency announced that federal disaster aid has been made available to the State of New Jersey and ordered federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in the area affected by Hurricane Sandy beginning on October 26, 2012, and continuing.

The President’s action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in Cape May, Atlantic, Essex, Hudson, Middlesex, Monmouth, Ocean, and Union counties.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for debris removal and emergency protective measures, including direct federal assistance, for Atlantic, Cape May, Essex, Hudson, Middlesex, Monmouth, Ocean, and Union counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Michael J. Hall has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Hall said damage surveys are continuing in other areas, and more counties and additional forms of assistance may be designated after the assessments are fully completed.

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated county can begin applying for assistance starting tomorrow by registering online at, by web enabled mobile device at or by calling 1–800-621-FEMA(3362) or 1–800-462-7585 (TTY) for the hearing and speech impaired. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. EDT seven days a week until further notice.

No comments:

Post a Comment